Go back to Mississippi

Almost exactly a year ago today I traded a place and a profession in Baltimore for a new life in Mississippi. A few years earlier, during another transitional moment, a friend observed to me that putting down roots is almost always a matter of committing oneself to a person, place or profession. At the time, I probably thought commitments to places were always consequences of prior commitments to people or professions, if only because I could imagine leaving a place for a person or profession, but not leaving a person or profession for a place. Now, I understand why place deserves equal ranking among the anchors of adulthood. πάντα ῥεῖ, Heraclitus said. Everything changes. A lot can change in a year, and a lot has, but Mississippi remains as good and faithful to me today as it ever has been. And for that I am truly grateful.

